We posed these questions to Flickr (Yahoo!):

1.

Can you permanently delete information that you previously provided?

Yes. There’s a link to Account Deletion page provided. If you ask Yahoo! to delete your Yahoo! account, your account will, in most cases, be deactivated and then deleted from user registration database in approximately 90 days. Information copied in back-up storage may remain for some period of time. Flickr Pro accounts cannot be canceled.

2.

Does the site make commitments to keeping your personally identifiable information (PII) secure?

Yes. Flickr limits access to personal information to employees who they believe reasonably need to come into contact with that info.

They have physical, electronic, and procedural safeguards that comply with their legal obligations to protect personal information.

3.

Can you find out when the privacy policy was last updated? Can you see older versions?

Yes: July 12, 2010. There isn’t a link to previous versions.


  • RSS
  • Contact